encouragements

You are not your own

19 Don’t you know that your body is a sanctuary of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, 20 for you were bought at a price. Therefore glorify God in your body.

-1 Corinthians 6:19 HCSB

You are not your own, you have been bought at a price and in the end God is your Lord, not yourself. You cant go on harming yourself and thinking of suicide. People often think that God cares about your happiness but I’m going to go ahead and say that God does not care about your happiness he cares about your holiness. You are supposed to have joy in the Lord but that does not mean you are happy. Joy is something that is deeper as emotions are fleeting and deceitful just as your heart is.

Suicide is never an answer. Suicide is a permanent solution to a temporary problem and only causes problems for others. You may feel that you are unloved but if you were to drop off the face of the earth there will be people who are deeply hurt by it. I have had friends who have attempted suicide over the last couple years and it scares me to no end. They were sent to a mental institution and while they were gone I would walk into class and see their empty seat and think to myself, only a few more minutes and there would be no chance of my friend sitting there ever again. You may feel alone but you need to know that not only do I care but so does God. It pains him to see you so willing to take away the gift of life he has given you.

You are not alone. There are people around the globe that know what you may be going through right now. I know it is not easy from experience myself but I don’t want to hurt anyone else in this process. I am lucky to know that I have people who love me and that makes it almost impossible for me to commit suicide but I know its not easy either way. You may feel alone but there are people that love you and care about what happens to you.

I would suggest that if you are suffering from these kinds of thoughts that you see a good psychologist about it and see what you can do. You might be surprised how much you can work through. Also you should be constantly praying to God about your problems and allow God to take control of your life. Remember that you are not your own and belong to God. God has know what has, is and is going to happen at all times, trust him to get things right and know that he has a plan even if you don’t see it.

I will be praying for all of you even if you don’t comment on here, I will be praying for all people dealing with depression and suicidal thoughts and I will be praying that your faith increases. Love you all, God bless.

Leave a Reply

